Taking the week off

This week I won’t be able to get a post up. It’s just been too busy, but in a good way.

This Saturday I’m finally going through my Ordination Council!

I’ve been waiting close to six years for this, and it’s finally here.

If you get a chance to remember me in prayer, that would be much appreciated.

Here is my testimony which will be included in my doctrinal paper for Saturday.

__________________________________________

I was born into a Christian family as a pastor’s son and brought up attending church on a regular basis. When I was 6 years old my sisters started to encourage me to be saved. My father would then question my understanding of the gospel and waited until I understood before he led me to accept the free gift of salvation. At that time my concept of God was that he was a loving and kind creator of the universe, but through the explanation of the Word of God from my father, I realized that God was also a righteous and wrathful judge of mankind and that my sin separated me from the love of God. It was then that I acknowledged my sins and need for a savior, called out to Jesus for forgiveness and salvation, and placed my faith in God alone for my eternal life.

When I was a child I was incredibly shy, but whenever anyone asked me what I wanted to do when I grew up, I told them I wanted to be a Pastor like me dad. However, I was so shy, I wouldn’t even go forward for Christmas programs with my class. When I turned twelve I went to a youth camp and was challenged at a campfire service to commit my life to ministry. I convinced myself that I wanted to go into ministry in some way, but I didn’t need to go forward to do that. Then my father, who was leading the service, said, “When your desire to obey God is greater than your fear, you’ll obey.” It was then I realized that I was holding back from God be allowing my fears to prevent me from serving in ministry. I went forward that night during the service and committed my life to whatever the Lord would have for me.

That same year, I got involved in preaching competitions and public ministries that gave me a earnest desire and longing for the pastoral ministry. When I went to college to study the Bible I grew in my faith and personalized what I had been taught for my entire life. It was when I turned twenty-one that I really captured a passion for my own faith and began a consistent journey in seeking the LORD and working out my own salvation with fear and trembling. Since then I have sought the council of pastors and mentors who have recognized my giftedness and calling and have challenged me to pursue the ministry.

Base on my own desires and the abilities that God has given my, my church has seen fit to acknowledge my calling and confirm my ministry. My hearts desire is to serve the LORD in every aspect of my life and to see others seeking the LORD with all of their heart as well.

_________________________________________

Check back next week when I continue my series with ‘Mishandled.’

This entry was posted in Personal Update. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking the week off

  1. YES!! I’m so happy for you, Adam and also so proud of you! I’ll be praying for you this weekend.

Leave a Reply

