Canned vs. Organic

The other day I came across this verse and was deeply moved. I honestly believe that our churches today are suffering from an epidemic of false spirituality. This spirituality seems authentic at a glance because of all the pomp and stance, but a closer examination reveals that it is just a facad. Just as Israel struggled with pharisaical hypocrisy, so the church is susceptible to promoting the physical attributes of spirituality without the power of the Spirit.

I don’t mean to suggest that I am attacking every believer or suggesting that this is a problem with every church. This is a core human trait that, unless it is constantly guarded against, seeps in without our knowing and destroys all that is holy.

“Therefore the Lord said: ‘Inasmuch as these people draw near with their mouths And honor Me with their lips, But have removed their hearts far from Me, And their fear toward Me is taught by the commandment of men,” (Isaiah 29:13 NKJV)

This reminds me of a quote from A. W. Tozer.

“That in such a dark day, we have allowed our seeking to be done by our teachers.” (The Pursuit of God)

There is always a challenge to find authentic spirituality among the church. So much of it is manufactured or canned up. Spirituality cannot be gained any more than muscles can be formed by drinking a protein shake. If we are to be spiritually strong it requires that we, “Work out our salvation with fear and trembling.” (Philipians 2:12)

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canned vs. Organic

  1. I have read all your posts lately and want to say that I am so proud that you are posting daily.

    This particular post strikes a cord with me. The Word says that every Christian is given a measure of faith. When that faith isn’t exercised then I believe the flesh comes to the surface much more often and frequently. I remember when I first rededicated my life to the Lord. I can look back on it now and see how God was doing a work in my life, but I wasn’t quite ready for the “BIG” commitment. I thought I was…that’s why I rededicated my life to Him, but somehow I allowed fear to stop me. God is so patient with us…waiting patiently for us to come to the place where we will surrender all to Him and trust Him totally with our lives. Anyway, the point I am trying to make here is that I agree with what you are saying and I believe it is a problem within the American church as a whole in every denomination. I believe that the affluence in our country has prevented us from trusting and practicing our faith to a degree that we are unafraid to put ourselves in a situation that we maybe in possible danger if God does not come through for us. That may sound a little bold; but I think that is what has happened to the American church. The American church has forfeited the power of the Holy spirit and settled for the lesser…affluence. Affluence has the ability to set your feet on your own rock that you have achieved for yourself; where choices are many. Anyway, I may take some heat from this comment, but so be it.

    • Adam Miller says:

      Thanks Jacquelyn. You put it better than I could. I’m so happy that God brought us together in this way. It’s such an encouragement that God is able to allow people who have never even met and live so far a part to be such a blessing to each other.

Leave a Reply

