Partying with Prostitutes for the Sake of the Gospel

Can you imagine it? Christians hanging out with prostitutes?

When I was in Scranton, PA there was a church that was known to be hospitable to prostitutes, by which I mean they attended their services. It may have just been for the free coffee, but word got out and the other churches around didn’t look too highly on it.

I can understand why this might look bad. My initial reaction to prostitutes is repulsive. But I never understood how having prostitutes under the preaching of the gospel was a bad thing. I know it’s our prejudice to be turned off by their gross sin, but doesn’t this lend for an opportunity to exercise conduct worthy of the gospel?

I visited that church a few times and I looked for anyone who might be labeled a prostitute but I couldn’t rightly tell. The gospel was preached, however, and people were worshiping God. That is a testimony of God’s saving grace.

This article from the Resurgence is really encouraging. I wish more churches would take the example of Christ more seriously as they seek to share the love of Jesus with every man, woman, and child.

“Wouldn’t we all? Wouldn’t we all love to join a church that throws birthday parties for prostitutes at 3:30 in the morning?… But anybody who reads the New Testament will discover a Jesus who loved to party with prostitutes and with all kinds of left-out people. The tax collectors and “sinners” loved him because he partied with them. The lepers of society found in him someone who would eat and drink with them. And while the solemnly pious people could not relate to what he was about, those lonely people who usually didn’t get invited to parties took to him with excitement.”

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Partying with Prostitutes for the Sake of the Gospel

  1. I have re-read your post. I remember now why I didn’t respond. I think it’s tough for Christians to go there…so to speak. Unfortunately, in most churches in America there is a “churchy facade.” Everyone knows what to say. Everyone is “blessed.” In fact, being blessed is mentioned a lot. I have also witnessed a clique of those that “say” and “do” the right things that concerns me because I have witnessed that those who can’t measure up (keeping all the right plates spinning…doing the right things, saying the right things, having their kids do the right things) are considered the ones that were failing in their Christian walk or “doing it wrong.” The reality is we are all at different stages of our walk with the Lord and hopefully moving toward a deeper and more intimate walk. We are all different people and judging one another by our own perceptions can be faulty. I’m thankful that God is our true and merciful judge. I have read a couple of books that really spoke to me. Afterward, I sensed a strong call to minister to the down and out, the abused, the left behind, the drug addicts, the prostitutes, the abandoned. My husband and I began attending a church on the poorest side of town. It certainly hasn’t been easy but it has filled my life with a joy that was previously missing. More than that, I sensed with every act of love and kindness that I was ministering to Christ. “whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” Matthew 25:40.

    Thank you for being brave enough to ask the tough questions. To get Christians to think. To step outside the box of our neatly wrapped facade of a culture and step into the master’s joy….pouring our lives out like a drink offering.

    • Adam Miller says:

      That “facade” is exactly what I would like to dispel. What a blessing to hear that you’re working in such a needy area. Too many Christians are pulling out of the mission fields in their own back yard. As a social worker, I worked in the projects six days a week. I think that experience showed me where the people are that are ready to hear the gospel. Really, we just need to be salt and light wherever God puts us, and some of us need to be purposeful at where we place ourselves so we can have the opportunity to serve.

Leave a Reply

