“Insert Provocative Subject Title Here”

It seems that yesterday’s post got a lot of hits (Even with a typo in the title), but no one felt the need to comment on it. I guess I can’t be surprised. People are attracted to provocative arguments, but they don’t want to join the discussion. I can only imagine what people were thinking when they saw that pop up on my Facebook wall.

Here at Worthy of the Gospel, I try to stress the importance of seeing people as God sees them. The fact that we typically are drawn to shocking subject titles shows us how many barriers we put up in our lives. I’ve often asked people if they would be willing to invite a homosexual couple over to their house for dinner as willingly as they would invite the heterosexual couple who is living together without being married. I know there is a lot more to this issue than the superficial point I’m making. I don’t mean to trivialize the issue. But when I look at the story of Jesus, I see Him opening His time up to the people rejected by society. Yet, it was the religious crowds that Jesus scolded and publicly lashed.

Although I didn’t mean to offend anyone, and I’m sorry if you were offended by yesterday’s post, I do hope that you were challenged, as I was, to look into your own life in perspective of the gospel and remember from where you came and how powerful grace really is.

This entry was posted in Worldview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Insert Provocative Subject Title Here”

  1. Rebekah says:

    I just read yesterday´s post and I guess I don´t see an arguement. Should we be welcoming to prostitutes if they come to our church? Is that what is in question? Is that really an arguement? I would hope not. Maybe I am missing something?
    This post got me thinking… although I am sure not as deep as you Adam!! ha. I am not known to be a deep thinker, ha. Anyway, I guess I would honestly have to answer “no” to your hypothetical question, but at the same time, I don´t know if it´s the right question. For many people (and I guess including me) we, without even intending to in our pride or whatever, look at homosexuality (or prostitution) as worse than other sins, with NO ground to stand on in that mindset. But at the same time, to stress ministry and outreach to those individuals – isn´t that really driven by the same attitude as one who would avoid minsitry to them? As though they are a “special” case or something, in need of a Savior more than your neighbor who is morally upright but spiritually depraved?
    I just don´t think there is necessarily a need to make any one type of sinner exclusive in their need of a Savior. (While recognizing that some people groups may be put on the heart of individual believers more than others) These questions I think serve to open our eyes to personal prejudice and how that goes directly against the example of Christ, and I do recognize that there can be different approaches to different ppl, but at the same time, the truth of the Gospel saves any and all sinners -. even prideful church brats like me.

    • Adam Miller says:

      Thanks Rebekah. I definitely didn’t mean to start an argument or raise a debate. I was simply encouraged that people were able to get past these barriers and share Christ love. You are right though, people tend to go to either extreme. They either avoid those they deem as lesser than them or they build a ministry around them. I’m not going to criticize niche ministries, but I’d like to see people recognizing their barriers so they can break them down and not be so shocked by what we are prejudice against.

  2. Beth G says:

    Hey Adam!! I wasn’t offended at all by the post. I have long thought it was important to see everyone as sinners that need a Savior, even if their only sin was neglecting a God that created and loves them. Although I don’t know one single person who can honestly say that is their only sin. It drives me bananas when people say things like homosexuals are going to hell in a hateful way. Do they walk up to every person they meet who is unsaved and say that right off? That would be a bit offputting. Would they say that to their Great Aunt Matilda? If she’s not saved, she is, but you wouldn’t snarl that at her, you would tell her lovingly about a God that made the greatest sacrafice for her. I must say I am not in the least bit perfect when it comes to treating people impartially, but it is certainly something that should be in the backs of our minds. I didn’t comment yesterday because I guess I just agreed with you and took with it a reminder to love the unlovable and went on my merry way 🙂

    • Adam Miller says:

      Well I’m glad your merry way brought you back here. You’re absolutely right. I think we are so concerned with accuracy, rightness, and holiness that we can’t just see people for who they really are. We almost want to prep them for the gospel to see how they might look after we get them saved. We are not called to bring people to moral reform. We are called to preach the gospel. I need to be reminded of that every once in a while too.

Leave a Reply

