“Radical” Book Review

Editor’s Note: This review has been re-edited and the new article can be located at this link: Radical and Crazy Love, a Re-review. 

Several people have either suggested David Platt’s book ‘Radical’ to me or questioned me about it’s inherent value. Having read both ‘Radical’ and the equivalent ‘Crazy Love’ by Francis Chan, I thought I might make a few comments about them both, but more concerning the former.

I first read Chan’s ‘Crazy Love’ and had several reservations with his take on poverty theology. While he makes some striking points that I whole-heartily agree with about America’s capitalist consumerism, I wasn’t impressed with how he handled the passages from God’s word. It seemed that he used the Bible very loosely and built his argument on emotion more than authority or conviction.

I then, begrudgingly, read ‘Radical.’ I assumed I would be getting another person’s take on the same argument. And though I have some reservations, I was much more impressed with Platt’s handling of Scripture and attempt to build principles with conviction and authority.

While I wish I could offer a more thorough review, I highly recommend Tim Challies’ review of this book. I feel Challies hits the nail on the head and says what I only wish I could have said so convincingly.

“There is genuine value in reading Radical, I’m sure of it. But maybe it’s best not to read it if you’ve already read several other books in a similar vein. Maybe it would be best to go back to some of those books and ask, “What have I actually done about it?” Sooner or later we either have to take action or figure out if maybe we need to go about being radical in a whole different way. If your big takeaway from Radical is a short-lived excitement followed by long-term guilt or apathy, either the message is wrong or your application of it is wrong.”

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Radical” Book Review

  1. Brent says:

    The biggest take away I had from Radical is that we need to get involved in missions personally. It was one of the reasons I joined a short term missions trip to Peru that I returned from this week. In all I believe that missions is far more accessible to non-career missionaries and worth the investment. Getting to partner with other believers in another country changed the way I look at and approach missions. More Christians need to do it.

  2. Pingback: Accuracy, Intimacy, and Action | Worthy of the Gospel

  3. Pingback: Radical and Crazy Love – A Re-review | Worthy of the Gospel

Leave a Reply

