When You Least Expect It…

Since I haven’t been posting over the past month, I’m sure you are wondering what led me to move out to Cape Cod. This is the story about how it all came about.

A little over a month ago I received a phone call from Dr. John DeBrine. He is the President and radio host for Songtime. He was looking for a program manager to head the helm of a 47 year old program. He received my resume through his program engineer, Dan Hiller (my girlfriend’s father). He gave me a call while I was at work at the dealership and I wasn’t able to answer the phone. But after hearing my voice on my voice mail, he had made his decision that he could use me on the radio. He called about three times, but because I didn’t recognize the number and couldn’t get a chance to check my voice mail I just kept ignoring them. Then I got a page over the intercom that there was a call waiting for me on hold. I answered the phone and there was John DeBrine. If at first you don’t succeed; try, try, and I guess, try the office number.

After talking with John for a while, he invited me out to the Cape for an interview. To be honest with you, I wasn’t interested in managing a radio program. To me, that’s like buying stock in Borders. It just didn’t make any sense to get involved in something that’s on it’s way out the door. But John was persistent and wanted to meet me in person so he flew me out to the Cape and put me up for a weekend.

After meeting with him and sharing my mission statement and vision (hence why I had been writing them for the blog) I was encouraged to find that Dr. DeBrine and I share the same passions. He then asked me what I wanted to do with my vision and I shared with him my desire to work on the web from a teaching basis and implement new patterns for getting the gospel and theology into the right people’s hands. He then asked if I would draw up a plan of attack for how Songtime could continue to have a lasting impact in the digital age. It didn’t take me long, because this had been a passion of mine for the past two years, so I drew up three points that would need to be accomplished in order to bring the ministry into the modern age, and one point that would hopefully take the ministry into the future. When I shared with him my notes he was impressed and said that this was exactly what the program needed. Right there, on the spot, he offered me a job, health benefits, and an opportunity to chase after my dreams.

It is interesting to me, because I have had these dreams for a few years now, but I always just assumed that they were those dreams that are just out of reach. They are valuable dreams because they make you a better person for striving for them, but they’re not the kind of dreams that you’ll ever see actually happen. Well, when you lease expect it, God moves.

I’m so thankful to see that God is even bigger than my dreams.

Keep me in your prayers as I will need discernment and wisdom in all my future endeavors.

This entry was posted in Personal Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When You Least Expect It…

  1. Brent says:

    Just a thought, but could you take the presentation you did at the conference and make it into blog posts? Also could you use Screen Flow to create video of short ideas to post? Just easy ways to get started.

Leave a Reply

