Assurance of Salvation

Today I had the opportunity to go on the air for the first time with Dr. John DeBrine. You can check out the program online at Songtime.com.

On the program today we addressed some letters and questions. One of them was on assurance of salvation, and since I didn’t get much time to fully address it then, I thought I would add a few thoughts here.

The Real Problem Behind Doubts

Doubts are common. I’ve had many during the early years of my salvation. I was saved at a very young age, I had my years of rebellion, I’ve often wondered if I was worthy of being saved. However, that’s not the right mindset to have. When doubts start with man, the focus has been diverted from the truth.

Salvation starts and ends with Jesus Christ. We cannot do anything to deserve this free gift. When we start thinking about ourselves in the work of salvation, what we are doing is diminishing the work of Christ. Was Jesus’ sacrifice sufficient enough to save your worst evils? If it was enough to save Paul, it is enough for you.

“This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.” I Timothy 1:15

Simply Trusting

People that are struggling with doubts of their salvation are really struggling with trusting Christ. This is critical because it is the very essence of salvation. When we recognize we are sinners in need of a savior we repent and turn our trust toward God. We don’t know how it works. “How can God take all the bad things in my life and simply disregard them?” But we believe that God is faithful to His Word and He says that our sins are forgiven and our identity is now in Christ.

When I think about this kind of trust, I think of a kid standing on a platform and jumping into the arms of his father. The only way the child is going to avoid injury is not found in his ability to prevent gravity from happening, but in the strength of his father. We are sinners. We can’t change the nature of who we are. But we have a savior who can.

“And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.” John 10:28-30

This entry was posted in Theology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

