Strength in Weakness and Unanswered Prayers

If this week was any test of my spiritual temper, I guess I would have to say I failed miserably. This week’s topic has been prayer, and boy did I need prayer this week.

Since moving out to Cape Cod and purchasing my car which I mentioned in an earlier post, I have been to the shop on five different occasions. Each time the cost for repairs comes when I am at my poorest. This week I was at my wits end with no clue how I was going to get through another car problem. I had all the signs of someone going through shock. I panicked, I prayed, I wept, and I cursed. That cycled for a while but God didn’t grant me my request.

It reminds me of a prayer of the apostle Paul where he prayed three times for a thorn in his flesh to be taken away.

“And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:7-10 NKJV

Paul was never granted his request, but instead of complaining he chose to appreciate his circumstances. What an interesting perspective that Paul would boast in his infirmities because those were the moments that were evident of the LORD’s strength.

Father, I thank You that Your way is higher than mine. That when I look back over my journey I cannot deny Your presence and ever guiding hand. I want to see Your hand in the present circumstances in my life. I want to be more like Paul who was able to boast in his weakness. Have Your will with my life. I would only screw it up. Amen.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

