Keep the Faith

When I was a freshman in college, I remember having a conversation with my dad, who was a pastor at the time. While sitting in an airport waiting for my flight to take me off for my vacation, I asked him why we had to use kosher crackers for communion. He told me that we’d have to talk about it someday when we had the time. That proceeded an hour long silence before my flight was called. I never did get to have that conversation with him.

Since then, I’ve had several young Christians ask me about communion and I’ve basically just given them the same response, “Just keep the faith.” As if there is no need to question the age old tradition I told them, “Just trust us and move along like a good little Christian.”

The more I learn about the next generation the more I realize that they are not going to simply accept those kinds of responses. They are not traditionalist and they don’t want to be told what to do.

Some older believers will see this as a threat to all their hard work and discipline at carving the spiritual road for the next generation, but I’ve come to respect this quality from up-and-coming leaders as a statement that they want to work out their own salvation with fear and trembling (Philippians 2:12).

This week is dedicated to answering the questions that young people are asking and to encouraging them to keep transforming. If you have any questions, I would be glad to hear them.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep the Faith

  1. Pingback: Communion Forced Another Conversation « Confessions Of A YEC

  2. Pingback: Week in Review | Worthy of the Gospel

Leave a Reply

