Sermonette: You’re a Piece of Work

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel.” Philippians 1:6-7 esv

Have you ever been discouraged and felt like you are not going to accomplish anything with your life? At 28, I feel like if I was going to make anything of myself, I would have done it by now. I’m still in a transition job. I still feel like I’ve got a lot to learn. I still can’t imagine why God would choose me.

Success is for the followers of Christ. Paul knows these people he is writing to in Philippi. He tells them that he has a special place in his heart for them. He knows they are followers of Christ because they have supported Paul since he has been imprisoned and because they have defended the gospel against those who would use Paul’s incarceration to discredit the power of God. They are both committed to truth, and they act it out. Therefore, he affirms their position in Christ.

You are a piece of work. As a child of God you are being refined. Every aspect of your life is carefully and methodically crafted by the Almighty to shape you into the image of His Son. There are two unequivocal truths from this verse: you are a masterpiece in the process and you won’t be complete until the day of Christ.

While our conversion assures us of salvation, it is our glorification that does the work of sanctification.

Worship God today. Take your eyes off of yourself and start to imagine a big God who could use little David, fearful Gideon, dump Moses, and hateful Paul. Focus on the one who forgives and forgets, who forges and fashions, who frees and fills. Look to the author of your faith and strife, follow His example and lay down your life.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sermonette: You’re a Piece of Work

  1. Pingback: Week in Review | Worthy of the Gospel

Leave a Reply

