Image of God by Christa Wells and Nicole Witt – Music Review and Giveaway

As I started writing this review, I got sidetracked and began critiquing how Christians typically approach the arts. I realized that I was ranting about bad art and I was neglecting to showcase the music in question. So, if that intrigues you, check back on Friday and you can see my Soapbox on Christians and the arts.

On to the review…

I first came across the music of Christa Wells by way of Tim Challies. After a glowing review and a few free samples from Noisetrade, I was instantly enticed and immediately satisfied. The first song I heard from Christa Wells was “Don’t Call It Love” which left me floored by the richness of her wisdom and creativity. The words seemed to be saying exactly what my heart was aching to express. Every time I’ve heard it since, my spirit has resonated with the richness of this song.

Don’t Call It Love
I’m tempted to sit back in my overstuffed chair
with a gavel in hand and a tired-eye stare that says
I’m not surprised you’ve messed it up again
I’m tempted to sigh, I’m tempted to yawn
if you’d only do life the way I’ve told you all along
It could be so easy
If you would only be more like me

But oh, that’s the beast that brings us down
It’s the devil in a satin gown
So don’t, don’t call it love (don’t call it love)
love wraps herself around the wound
and weeps while she speaks truth
So don’t call this love…

In her new five song EP, Christa Wells has teamed up with Nicole Witt. Both artists have a similar story, writing for many years for some of the most prominent artists in Nashville, and now they are embarking on their own solo career as performing artists. Christa Wells even received a GMA Dove Award for “Songwriter of the year” back in 2006 for “Held,’ recorded by Natalie Grant.

Image of God shows evident growth and perfectly orchestrated compatibility for these two friends and artists. The whole album is very soft and clean. My biggest critique against music, particularly Christian music, is that they rarely say anything profound. The fist song on this album, by the same title, is a profound exception to the mainstream. There are great riches of theology found in the songs on this album.

Image of God
Bare feet stepping on glass
We break along life’s paths
Our fear and loss, we bring it all to you
Soul-breather, making all things new
You’re making all things new

We come in pieces
We come in fragments
We come discolored
To the foot of the cross
Our Maker sees us
All that we have been
Bonds us together
The Image of God…

To be honest, I don’t listen to much music. I’m not the kind of person that has the radio playing all of the time. I don’t typically work with music playing in the background. While I am a manager of a radio program, I have nothing to do with the music that is played on it. My iPhone (all 32GB) is primarily filled with audio books. There are only a few musician that cause me to listen up, Christa Wells is one of those artists that engages my heart and mind.

I may not be a music critic, but for what it is worth, I highly recommend the music of Christa Wells and her new EP: Image of God.

Visit Christa Wells’ website at… christawellsmusic.com
Visit Nicole Witt’s website at… nicolewitt.com

You can listen and share Christa Wells’ music at her site as well as purchase and download her albums. (I particularly recommend Frame the Clouds since it includes Don’t Call It Love.)

As a special gift from Christa Wells I am making THREE of her albums available in a GIVEAWAY. So be sure to sign up for a chance to win.

________________________________________________________________

Sorry, the giveaway is over.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Image of God by Christa Wells and Nicole Witt – Music Review and Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Soapbox: Christians and Art | Worthy of the Gospel

  2. Pingback: Desiring Truth | Worthy of the Gospel

  3. Noelia says:

    Thanks for some other informative web site. The place else could
    I get that type of info written in such an ideal approach?
    I have a mission that I’m simply now working on, and I’ve
    been on the glance out for such info.

  4. Kay says:

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you
    download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.

    Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks

  5. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog
    writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  6. Collin says:

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and detailed information you present.

    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date
    rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

